The island of Borneo is made up of the two Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, the small oil country of Brunei with the remainder being Indonesian Kalimantan. Sabah is the Malaysia state located at the North-Eastern tip of the island of Borneo and is considered to be one of the most biologically rich regions on the planet. Surrounded by the South China Sea on the West and the Sulu and Celebes Seas on the East, it is covered in lush rainforests with an unsurpassed collection of plants and animal species above and below the water. Off the South-East coast of Sabah lie the neighbouring islands of Mabul, Kapalai, and Sipadan, the crown jewel of Malaysian diving. Any of these island host world class diving, however, Sipadan is well and truly one of the most spectacular dive sites anywhere in the world. While accommodation no longer exists on Sipadan guests can stay at the nearby islands of Kapalai or Mabul. A little further away are the islands of Mataking and Pom Pom. Lankayan island lies off the coast to the North of Sandakan, while Layang-Layang lies hundreds of kilometres off the coast of Kota Kinabalu in the South China Sea. Closer to Kota Kinabalu are the islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park which offer some quite reasonable diving and also a cheaper alternative to get your dive qualifications if you do not already have your PADI or SSI certification. As well as the pre-eminent dive resorts of Sabah, excellent diving is also possible on the North-East coast of Kalimantan at Derawan, Sangalaki, and Maratua, which lie to the main islands on the South-East coast of Sabah; and on the West coast of Sarawak off the coast of Miri, and Brunei.


Scuba Diving in Borneo